Plans: Menu Plan Monday

Here’s my meal plan for the week. This is the first time I’ve posted something like this online, so hopefully this first attempt will be okay.

A couple of things:

-I am trying to follow the USDA dietary guidelines, but with a thirty something mom, a teenage boy, and a tween boy, the guidelines vary. We are going for 2 c. fruit, 3 c. vegies, 8oz grains, 6.5oz protein, 3c dairy, with me eating less (1.5 c., 2.5c, 6oz, 5oz, 3c.)

-I am a vegetarian, but my boys aren’t, so the meals reflect this.

-I don’t usually have a day where its “on your own” or anything like that—it doesn’t work at my house and the guys end up eating junk.

-I’m using a lot of recipes from Big Oven because I have that app and I am familiar with it. I use the free version.

Monday: First day of school

B- Muffins from a mix (easy!)

L- Chinese (Grandma in town)
D- Crispy Southwest Chicken Wraps

Tuesday: Fast

B- Old-fashioned oatmeal with brown sugar, cinnamon, apples, walnuts, and flaxseeds

L- Sandwiches, carrots
D- Boys at their dad’s house; spinach artichoke dip

S- yogurt and fruit

Wednesday: Mexican

B- Waffles and fruit

L- Mac and Cheese (boxed and easy), green beans
D- Tostadas: refried beans, lettuce, tomatoes, cheese

Thursday: Pasta

B- Breakfast Burritos

L- Jucy Lucy’s Hamburgers, fries, carrots
D- Chicken Marsala, mixed vegies

S- Chai cake

Friday: Exotic

B- Cinnamon Rolls

L- Veggie Korma, rice, naan
D- Broiled Tilapia, brocolli

Saturday:

B- Fruit and Yogurt

L- Pad Thai
D- Bread, cheese, leftover fruit that needs to be eaten

Sunday:

B- Spinach/Cheese Puffs

L- Sushi (out)
D- Homemade Pizza

Leave a Reply

